home Education The 5 levels of ITIL Certification

The 5 levels of ITIL Certification

ITIL, initially the acronym standing for Information Technology Infrastructure Library, is the premier framework outlining IT service delivery all over the world. ITIL describes a service life-cycle that lays out the various specific activities and processes during the design, development, delivery and support of IT services. It is considered the standard for IT service management frameworks and helps give companies the structure and discipline required to design, grow, deliver and manage new or updated services in a timely manner, and on budget.

There are 5 levels of ITIL certification within the ITIL qualification scheme that include;

  1. ITIL Foundation Certification

The ITIL Foundation certification deals with the fundamentals of ITIL and is where many newbies start their journey towards being certified. There are no pre-requisites here and anyone interested to study for the certification can enroll for the exam. And although this level covers all the 5 practice areas of the ITIL service cycle, an IT expert who wishes to qualify for service management positions will need to go on to the Practitioner or Intermediate levels first.

  1. ITIL Practitioner

This qualification is the newest entry in to the qualification scheme with its first exams having been undertaken in February 2016. Each practitioner module contributes 3 credits towards the ITIL Expert certification. A certified ITIL Practitioner can be able to utilize the ITIL framework in supporting a business’s objectives, and their focus is mainly on organizational change management, communication, metrics and measurement.

  1. ITIL Intermediate

Each module on this ITIL certification focuses on a different aspect of IT service management. It is open for candidates who have passed the ITIL Foundation exam and have completed an accredited training course. It is categorized as either;

  • Service Lifecycle modules: Service Strategy , Service Design (SD), Service Transition (ST), Service Operation (SO), Continual Service Improvement (CSI)
  • Service Capability modules: Operational Support and Analysis (OSA), Planning, Protection and Optimization (PPO), Release, Control and Validation (RCV), Service Offerings and Agreements (SOA).
  1. ITIL Expert

This ITIL Certification level is an advanced qualification that captures the depth of ITIL practices and processes across all the ITIL disciplines. The ITIL Expert certification is the pre-requisite for ITIL Master Certification. To qualify for this level, you must have passed the Foundation, Practitioner, and Intermediate modules with at least 17 credits as well as have a pass in the MALC (Managing Across the Lifestyle) exam, earning you a total of 22 credits.

  1. IT Master

This is the top-most level of ITIL certification. It demonstrates the ability of an IT expert to apply the ITIL framework in real world situations. The certification encompasses all the ITIL processes and principles from Foundation to Expert levels and an ITIL master must demonstrate mastery of the ITIL framework by; attaining the Expert certification, demonstrating more than 5 years of ITIL experience in a leadership/management role, presenting a proposal for a certain service improvement, and succeeding in an interview with an ITIL evaluation panel.